NFL Concussion Settlement Glossary

Baseline Assessment Program
Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy
Derivative Claimant
Level 1.5 Neurocognitive Impairment
Level 2 Neurocognitive Impairment
Qualifying Diagnosis
Representative Claimant

Baseline Assessment Program (BAP) – The baseline assessment program provides baseline neurological and neuropsychological examinations to retired NFL players who qualify for the settlement. The tests are designed to determine if players are suffering from cognitive impairment.

Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy (CTE) – A progressive degenerative brain disease found in people who have experienced multiple head traumas over the course of their life. The disease can cause a wide range of neurocognitive disorders including memory loss, confusion, impaired judgment, lack of impulse control, aggression, depression and progressive dementia. Unfortunately, there is no way to test for CTE while alive. The only way to diagnose CTE is a post mortem analysis of the brain.

Derivative Claimant – A derivative claimant is any person under applicable state law who asserts their right to sue due to their relationship to a retired of deceased NFL player who falls under this settlement. This includes spouses, parents, dependent children and any other dependent individuals.

Level 1.5 neurocognitive impairment – Level 1.5 neurocognitive impairment, also known as early dementia, is a condition where a person has experienced brain degeneration that can cause symptoms such as confusion, memory loss, language disturbance and more. The 1.5 comes from the person’s current cognitive abilities being 1.5 standard deviations below their expected average cognitive abilities. Symptoms of early dementia can often be vague and hard to clearly observe. That is why it is important to be tested by a qualified board certified neurologist or neuro-physician who specializes in spotting these signs.

Level 2 neurocognitive impairment – Level 2 neurocognitive impairment, also known as moderate dementia, is a condition in which a person has experienced significant brain degeneration that cause a significant cognitive decline. This can often lead to the person needing assistance with basic daily tasks such as eating, getting dressed and using the toilet. Significant memory loss and difficulty with short term memory are also symptoms. The 2 comes from the person’s current cognitive abilities being two standard deviations below their expected average cognitive abilities.

Qualifying Diagnosis – A qualifying diagnosis is a diagnosis of level 1.5 neurocognitive impairment, level 2 neurocognitive impairment, Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, ALS or death with CTE. Players who meet the qualification requirements and are diagnosed with any of those diseases are eligible to receive a payout from the NFL. Players with level 1 neurocognitive impairment are also eligible to receive treatment and further testing.

Representative Claimant – A representative, ordered by a court or other official under state law, of a deceased, legally incapacitated or incompetent retired NFL player.